Jun 242014

The Firefighter Class of 2014

The Firefighter Class of 2014

Over the past few months, 21 men and women have been training hard to earn their Firefighter One status through the Valley Fire Chief’s Regional Fire School.

You may remember seeing students working on Hazmat training at Fire Station 1 on Orange Center Road on May 4.

The class improvised an emergency situation and learned how to safely decontaminate one another and “victims” then underwent a written test that day as well.

On May 18, the class attended ladder training at the New Haven Fire School, during which they practiced many important skills, including how to balance and carry tall ladders, negotiate them under electrical wires and place it securely against a building.  They worked together in several different scenarios as they would in a real fire emergency, including entering a smoke-filled building.

On June 18, after meeting all required criteria for Firefighter One certification, the students representing 10 departments in the region, gathered at Fire Station 2 for their long awaited graduation ceremony.

Orange First Selectman Jim Zeoli (who was once an active volunteer firefighter) was the guest speaker, and proudly welcomed all the new Orange Volunteer Firefighters.

Arleen Yacobacci, sworn to the Ansonia Fire Department, was Class Valedictorian.

Following are the members of the Class of 2014 and their respective departments:

• Nicholas Adams – Orange

• Alexander Bowyer – Bethlehem

• Austin Buoni – Shelton

• Andrew Cota – Ansonia

• Gary Farrar, Jr. – Ansonia

• Patrick Francis – Woodbridge

• Matthew Hallet – Derby

• Nicholas Holt – Orange

• Christopher Iadarola – West Haven

• Austin Keeney – Orange

• Logan Marsh – Allingtown

• Justin Mayer – Shelton

• Daniel McCue – Shelton

• Travis Nelson – Ansonia

• Samod Rankin – Orange

• Michael Russell – Seymour

• Emma Shriver – Shelton

• Trevor Stewart – Orange

• Evan Stulberger – Stamford

• Matthew White – Orange

• Arleen Yacobacci – Ansonia



Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.