Jun 232018

The Amity Athletics Booster Club hosted its 62nd Annual Block A Athletic Award Dinner at Race Brook Country Club on Sunday, June 10.

The best of the best in Amity Athletics gathered at the event, which withholds the names of the winners until they are officially announced by his or her coach following a brief biography.

Following are the 2017-2018 MVPs in their respective sports: 

Baseball – Patrick Winkel

Boys Basketball – Tyler Thomas

Girls Basketball – Tara Laugeni

Dance – Sophie Benjamin

Boys Cross Country – Connor Visnic 

Field Hockey – Sara Kelly 









Girls Cross Country – Abby Bowser

Baseball MVP Patrick Winkel and Coach Sal Coppola.

Football – Luigi Luciani

Boys Golf – Jamie Blum

Girls Golf – Bridget Barnsley 

Boys Ice Hockey – Tyler Cole

Girls Ice Hockey – Cally Dixon

Girls Indoor Track and Field – Nicole Koshes

Boys Indoor Track and Field – Connor Visnic 

Boys Lacrosse – Dane Walsh 

Girls Lacrosse MVP Ana Carney and Coach Jenna DeRosa

Girls Lacrosse – Ana Carney

Boys Ski Racing – Henry Molot

Girls Ski Racing – Mary Foley

Boys Soccer – Thomas Kanter 

Girls Soccer – Abby Allen

Softball – Carly Marchitto

Boys Swimming – Colin Roy

Girls Swimming – Molly Cox

Boys Tennis – Marco Delsanto 

Girls Tennis – Hannah Hipona 

Girls Track and Field – Emily Zielinski 

Boys Volleyball – Arvand Golbazi 

Girls Volleyball – Abby Harbinson

Wrestling – Matthew Rothman 

And here are some special awards, and scholarship awards:

Unified Sportsmanship Award Sydney Finch

Versatility Award – Jack Nolan and Brooke Matyasovsky

Scholar Athlete – Jake Silliman and Shayna Goldblatt

Sportsmanship Award – Chris Bierezowiec and Olivia Dittman

Paul Mengold Outstanding Leadership Award – Carly Marchitto

Carly Marchitto, Winner of the Paul Mengold Leadership Award with Mengold, Athletic Director Ernie Goodwin, and her coaches.












Albert J. Seymour Memorial Award – John Benanto and Mckenzie Mcdermott

Thomas G. Laugeni Memorial Award – Colin Roy and Grace Whitman

Kevin Yanagisawa, winner of the Steven J. Zeider Memorial Swimming Award.

Steven J. Zeider Memorial Swimming Award – Kevin Yanagisawa 

James Dunleavy Memorial Hockey Award – Jordan Conn

Mark E. Greco Memorial Hockey Award – Brian Early

Jeremy Saxe Memorial Scholarship – Henry Molot

Thomas J. Ross Memorial Manager Award – Olivia Dittman

Coach of the Year (Boys Basketball) Jeff Nielsen.

Coach of the Year Award –Jeff Nielsen

Assistant Coach of the year – Nick Dottori

Outstanding Service Award – Bobby Carbone

Athlete of the Year Award – Pat Winkel and Nicole Koshes


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.