Quantcast

Law Enforcement to Stop Distracted Drivers

 Around Town, Home, Latest News, Police & Fire, Today's Events  Comments Off on Law Enforcement to Stop Distracted Drivers
Apr 092017
 

From April 4 to April 30, Orange police will be out in force looking for distracted drivers as part of the U Drive. U Text. U Pay campaign, a high-visibility effort to enforce distracted-driving laws.

Beginning last Tuesday on April 4th, you may have noticed stepped-up law enforcement efforts. Officers will be stopping and ticketing anyone who is caught texting and driving. If you text and drive, you will pay.

Too many drivers are ignoring their responsibilities behind the wheel, and distracted driving is a growing and deadly threat on our roadways. Orange PD is teaming up with the Connecticut Department of Transportation during the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration’s (NHTSA’s) National Distracted Driving Awareness month to make sure all motorists keep their eyes on the road and their hands on the wheel.

Violating Connecticut’s distracted driving laws can be costly. Drivers who are ticketed for this violation can be fined $150 for a first offense, $300 for a second offense and $500 for third and subsequent offenses.

According to the NHTSA, 3,477 people were killed and an estimated 391,000 injured in motor vehicle crashes involving distracted drivers in 2015. This is a 9-percent increase in fatalities as compared to the previous year.

An analysis by the AAA Foundation for Traffic Safety of 2009-2012 data found that while more than 80 percent of drivers believed it was completely unacceptable for a motorist to text behind the wheel, more than a third of those same drivers admitted to reading text messages while operating a passenger motor vehicle themselves.

Orange Police and the Connecticut Department of Transportation urge you to put your phone down when you get behind the wheel. If you need to text, pull over and park your vehicle in a safe place first.

Remind your family and friends to never text and drive:

●     Texting and driving is more than just personally risky. When you text and drive, you are a danger to everyone around you.

●     No one likes to be criticized by a friend for doing something wrong, but it’s even worse to get caught by law enforcement and have to pay a fine.

●     Don’t follow the pack, be a leader. When you get behind the wheel, be an example to your family and friends by putting your phone away.

Orange Police: Remember the “U Drive, U Text, U Pay” Campaign is Still On

 Around Town, Home, Latest News, Police & Fire, Today's Events  Comments Off on Orange Police: Remember the “U Drive, U Text, U Pay” Campaign is Still On
Aug 152016
 

Texting-and-driving-in-Florida1The Orange Police Department is participating in the “U DRIVE. U TEXT. U PAY.” initiative – an effort to crackdown on motorists who choose to text, talk or otherwise distract themselves from the task of driving by using a hand-held mobile phone.

According to surveys conducted last year’s crackdown, there was an eight percent drop in drivers’ mobile phone use at observation locations throughout municipalities where police conducted enforcement.  The drop in observed use is encouraging to law enforcement agencies, and demonstrates the need to reinforce to motorists that mobile phone use while driving is both dangerous and illegal.

The campaign began Wednesday, Aug. 3 and will run through Tuesday, Aug. 16 and marks the second time this year law enforcement agencies will mobilize by adding special patrols – aimed at catching distracted drivers – especially those on their phones. 

“Distracted Driving continues to be an issue in our communities” said Assistant Police Chief Anthony Cuozzo.  “Chief Gagne continues to make traffic enforcement a priority in Orange and for the Department.  We will staff extra patrols and traffic details during this enforcement period and hopefully we can do our part to make the roads and highways safer,” Cuozzo said.

Under Connecticut’s cell phone and texting law, violations involve heavy fines, ranging from $150 for a first offense, $300 for a second violation, and $500 for each subsequent violation.

In 2014, 3,179 people were killed and an estimated additional 431,000 were injured in motor vehicle crashes involv­ing distracted drivers.  

Connecticut remains the only state in the nation to receive special distracted driving prevention funds – the same funds that allow for special patrols to identify, stop and cite drivers who choose to ignore distracted driving laws.  Over $6.8 million dollars has been awarded to the state over the last three years specifically – to fund campaigns like this one.  Connecticut qualifies for this federal funding source through a mix of tough laws – and, a proven track record in strong enforcement of distracted driving laws.

For more information about national distracted driving issues, visit www/distraction.gov.

Orange Police: State DOT Reminds Residents To Subtract The Distraction

 Around Town, Home, Latest News, Police & Fire, Today's Events  Comments Off on Orange Police: State DOT Reminds Residents To Subtract The Distraction
Aug 022016
 

texting-drivingThe Orange Police Department, along with the Connecticut Department of Transportation’s Highway Safety Office, today announced the continuation of the “U DRIVE. U TEXT. U PAY.” initiative – an effort to crackdown on motorists who choose to text, talk or otherwise distract themselves from the task of driving by using a hand-held mobile phone.

According to surveys conducted last year’s crackdown, there was an eight percent drop in drivers’ mobile phone use at observation locations throughout municipalities where police conducted enforcement.  The drop in observed use is encouraging to law enforcement agencies, and demonstrates the need to reinforce to motorists that mobile phone use while driving is both dangerous and illegal.

The campaign will run from Wednesday, Aug. 3 through Tuesday, Aug. 16 and marks the second time this year law enforcement agencies will mobilize by adding special patrols – aimed at catching distracted drivers – especially those on their phones. 

The last operation, which took place during April 2016, resulted in over 12,000 citations issued to motorists who chose to ignore Connecticut’s distracted driving laws. Nearly 50 law enforcement agencies including both state and local police are again participating in this operation – aimed at keeping Connecticut’s roadways safe.

“Distracted Driving continues to be an issue in our communities” remarked Assistant Police Chief Anthony Cuozzo.  “Chief Gagne continues to make traffic enforcement a priority in Orange and for the Department.  We will staff extra patrols and traffic details during this enforcement period and hopefully we can do our part to make the roads and highways safer,” Cuozzo said.

The Department of Transportation had announced in April that the results of recent research found an estimated 11.1 million of occurrences of distracted driving happen each day throughout the state of Connecticut.  According to the findings, in total, it is estimated that 9.6% of drivers were either texting or talking on a hands free device.

“Under Connecticut’s cell phone and texting law, violations involve heavy fines, ranging from $150 for a first offense, $300 for a second violation, and $500 for each subsequent violation.

In 2014, 3,179 people were killed and an estimated additional 431,000 were injured in motor vehicle crashes involv­ing distracted drivers.  

Connecticut remains the only state in the nation to receive special distracted driving prevention funds – the same funds that allow for special patrols to identify, stop and cite drivers who choose to ignore distracted driving laws.  Over $6.8 million dollars has been awarded to the state over the last three years specifically – to fund campaigns like this one.  Connecticut qualifies for this federal funding source through a mix of tough laws – and, a proven track record in strong enforcement of distracted driving laws.

For more information about national distracted driving issues, visit www/distraction.gov.

How Much Will You Pay If You Use A Hand-Held Device While Driving?

 Around Town, Police & Fire  Comments Off on How Much Will You Pay If You Use A Hand-Held Device While Driving?
Apr 112016
 

This will Cost You

This will Cost You

Even though there are laws in place and the dangers of distracted driving have been highly publicized, people still drive with their cell phones up to their ear.

You see them everywhere. In front of you at a stop light that changed 15 seconds ago, crossing into your lane on the parkway or nearly hitting you as they try to navigate into a parking space with one hand on the wheel.

If the reality of being pulled over by a police officer or thought of getting into an accident aren’t enough to make you put your phone down, then how about the loss of your hard-earned money?

The state of Connecticut requires police to fine chatty drivers the following amounts when they write a ticket for these violations.

14-296aa(b1st Operation of a motor vehicle while using a handheld mobile telephone to engage in a call or while using a mobile electronic device (1st offense)  $150

14-296aa(b2nd Operation of a motor vehicle while using a handheld mobile telephone to engage in a call or while using a mobile electronic device (2nd
offense)   $300

14-296aa(b3rd Operation of a motor vehicle while using a handheld mobile telephone to engage in a call or while using a mobile electronic device (3rd/sbs
offense)  $500

14-296aa(c1st Use of hand-held or hands-free mobile telephone or other electronic device while operating a school bus carrying passengers (1st
offense)   $150

14-296aa(c2nd Use of hand-held or hands-free mobile telephone or other electronic device while operating a school bus carrying passengers (2nd offense)  $300

14-296aa(c3rd Use of hand-held or hands-free mobile telephone or other electronic device while operating a school bus carrying passengers (3rd/sbs offense)  $500

14-296aa(d1st Use of a hand-held or hands-free mobile telephone or a mobile electronic device by an individual under 18 while operating a motor vehicle (1st offense)   $150

14-296aa(d2nd Use of a hand-held or hands-free mobile telephone or a mobile electronic device by an individual under 18 while operating a motor vehicle (2nd offense)  $300

14-296aa(d3rd Use of a hand-held or hands-free mobile telephone or a mobile electronic device by an individual under 18 while operating a motor
vehicle (3rd/sbs offense)  $500

14-296aa(e1st Typing, reading or sending a text or a text message with or from a mobile telephone or mobile electronic device while operating a commercial motor vehicle (1st offense) $150

14-296aa(e2nd Typing, reading or sending a text or a text message with or from a mobile telephone or mobile electronic device while operating a
commercial motor vehicle (2nd offense) $300

14-296aa(e3rd Typing, reading or sending a text or a text message with or from a mobile telephone or mobile electronic device while operating a
commercial motor vehicle (3rd/sbs offense)  $500
14-296aa(i1st Distracted driving behavior while committing a moving violation. Note: DO NOT use this violation unless you are charging a moving violation (1st offense) $150

14-296aa(i2nd Distracted driving behavior while committing a moving violation. Note: DO NOT use this violation unless you are charging a moving violation (2nd offense) $300

14-296aa(i3rd Distracted driving behavior while committing a $500 moving violation. Note: DO NOT use this violation unless you are charging a moving
violation (3rd/sbs offense) $500

Schedule answer date for second Friday after the date of

 

Originally Published on: Jan 8, 2014 @ 23:24

Orange Police: Next Wave of “U Drive. U Text. U Pay” to Launch August 3 – August 16

 Around Town, Home, Latest News, Police & Fire, Today's Events  Comments Off on Orange Police: Next Wave of “U Drive. U Text. U Pay” to Launch August 3 – August 16
Aug 032015
 

11802757_850721321647958_6459216305425376931_oThe Orange Police Department along with the Connecticut Department of Transportation’s Highway Safety Office, today announced the continuation of the “U DRIVE. U TEXT. U PAY.” initiative – an effort to crackdown on motorists who choose to text, talk or otherwise distract themselves from the task of driving by using a hand-held mobile phone.

According to surveys conducted before and after April’s crackdown, there was an eight percent drop in mobile phone use by drivers at observation locations throughout municipalities where police conducted enforcement. The drop in observed use is encouraging to law enforcement agencies, and demonstrates the need to reinforce to motorists that mobile phone use while driving is both dangerous and illegal.

texting-drivingThe campaign will run from August 3rd through the 16th and marks the second time this year law enforcement agencies will mobilize by adding special patrols – aimed at catching distracted drivers – especially those on their phones.

The last operation, which took place during April 2015, resulted in nearly 16,000 citations issued to motorists who chose to ignore Connecticut’s distracted driving laws. That is FOUR TIMES more citations in one month than any other month over the most recent three-year period (2012-2014) when a specialized enforcement campaign did not occur. Over 50 law enforcement agencies including both state and local police are again participating in this operation – aimed at keeping Connecticut’s roadways safe.

The Department of Transportation had announced in April that the results of recent research found an estimated 11.1 million of occurrences of distracted driving happen each day throughout the state of Connecticut. According to the findings, in total, it is estimated that 9.6% of drivers were either texting or talking on a hands free device.

Under Connecticut’s cell phone and texting law, violations involve heavy fines, ranging from $150 for a first offense, $300 for a second violation, and $500 for each subsequent violation.

textingIn 2013, 3,154 people were killed and an estimated additional 424,000 were injured in motor vehicle crashes involving distracted drivers. According to a 2014 special article in the New England Journal of Medicine, the risk of a crash or near-crash among novice drivers increased with the performance of many secondary tasks, including texting and dialing cell phones.

Connecticut remains the only state in the nation to receive special distracted driving prevention funds – the same funds that allow for special patrols to identify, stop and cite drivers who choose to ignore distracted driving laws. Over $4.6 million dollars has been awarded to the state over the last two years specifically – to fund campaigns like this one. Connecticut qualifies for this federal funding source through a mix of tough laws – and, a proven track record in strong enforcement of distracted driving laws.

“The Men and Women of the Orange Police Department remain committed to the reduction in distracted driving. This initiative will lead to a reduction of traffic crashes and make our community safer,”  Asst. Chief Anthony Cuozzo said. “We will continue to enforce these laws long after the official campaign concludes”

For more information about national distracted driving issues, visit www/distraction.gov.

— This announcement is posted on the Orange PD Facebook Page

Originally Published on: Jul 28, 2015 @ 13:53

Orange Police Take Part In U DRIVE. U TEXT. U PAY. Enforcement Campaign

 Around Town, Home, Latest News, Police & Fire, Today's Events  Comments Off on Orange Police Take Part In U DRIVE. U TEXT. U PAY. Enforcement Campaign
Mar 312015
 

thThe Orange Police Department, along with the Connecticut Department of Transportation’s Highway Safety Office, today announced the kick-off of “U DRIVE. U TEXT. U PAY.” – an effort to crackdown on motorists who choose to text, talk or otherwise distract themselves from the task of driving by using a hand-held mobile phone.

This effort is part of a larger campaign sponsored by the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA) – who deems the month of April, national distracted driving awareness month.  The Orange Police Department is participating in this campaign by adding special patrols – aimed at catching distracted drivers – especially those on their phones.

“For those who say that driving and texting is an epidemic, we believe enforcement of our hand-held mobile phone ban law is part of the cure.” Said Asst Chief Anthony Cuozzo

Under Connecticut’s cell phone and texting law, violations involve heavy fines, ranging from $150 for a first offense, $300 for a second violation, and $500 for each subsequent violation.

As many as 50 law enforcement agencies including state and local police will take part in the mobilization to enforce Connecticut’s tough law that prohibits motorists from texting and/or using hand-held cell phones while driving. The crackdown will span the entire month of April.

During a similar, three week campaign last September, over 7,000 motorists received a citation for using their phone while driving.

In 2013, 3,154 people were killed and an estimated additional 424,000 were injured in motor vehicle crashes involv­ing distracted drivers.

According to a 2014 special article in the New England Journal of Medicine, the risk of a crash or near-crash among novice drivers increased with the performance of many secondary tasks, including texting and dialing cell phones.

Police will be keeping an especially close eye out for drivers who text and drive.  “Texting and driving requires motorists to take their eyes off the road, hands off the wheel, and mind off the task of driving. It creates the proverbial ‘perfect storm’ for a crash, and no one has the right to put another person’s life at risk like that,” said Asst. Chief Cuozzo.

Connecticut remains the only state in the nation to receive special distracted driving prevention funds – the same funds that allow for special patrols to identify, stop and cite drivers who choose to ignore distracted driving laws.  Over $4.6 million dollars has been awarded to the state over the last two years specifically – to fund campaigns like this one.  Connecticut qualifies for this federal funding source through a mix of tough laws – and, a proven track record in strong enforcement of distracted driving laws.

“It’s not that complicated: if you text and drive, we will see you, pull you over, and fine you. We’re serious about enforcing texting laws,” said Asst Chief Cuozzo

For more information about national distracted driving issues, visit www/distraction.gov.

It Can Wait: Don’t Text and Drive, Take The Pledge Now

 Amity High School, Around Town, Home, Latest News  Comments Off on It Can Wait: Don’t Text and Drive, Take The Pledge Now
Jul 122013
 

Screen shot 2013-07-12 at 6.28.24 PMMore than 100,000 accidents every year involve texting while driving.

Take the pledge, and when you do, take it seriously.

Nothing is that important, that you have to risk your own life and the lives of others, not to mention the pain you will inflict upon the families that lose a loved one due to your actions.

Remember back in the 70s when your parents were your age, there were no cell phones, and they survived — you can too.

Go to ItCanWait.com and take the pledge now.