Three Amity Wrestlers Reach the Finals at the New Milford Tournament

 Amity High School, Around Town, Home, Latest News, School News, Sports  Comments Off on Three Amity Wrestlers Reach the Finals at the New Milford Tournament
Jan 222018

Justin Griffin, Head Coach Ryan Roddy, Matt Rothman and; Aiden Hebert.
                              (Photo by Dorothy Seaton)

On Saturday, January 20 the Amity High School wrestling team placed 5th out of 20 teams at a tough 37th Annual New Milford Tournament while landing three wrestlers in the finals.

Senior Captain Matt Rothman (152 lbs.) and Junior Justin Griffin (285 lbs.) captured individual titles while Sophomore Aiden Hebert (120 lbs.) placed second.

Also helping the team to their 5th place finish was Senior Captain Sam Keylock (160 lbs.) who placed 4th. This was the best finish ever for the Amity wrestling team at the New Milford Tournament.

Head Coach Ryan Roddy said, “The entire team wrestled tough and all contributed to their 89 team points while this young team got some great wrestling experience against tough competition.”

Amity wrestling will be back in action on Tuesday, January 23 at 6:30 p.m. to take on Branford at Branford High School in an SCC B division match up with Amity looking to remain undefeated in the conference.

— Written by Chris Chadwick

Wrestling: Amity Defeats Shelton 38-34

 Amity High School, Around Town, Latest News, School News, Sports  Comments Off on Wrestling: Amity Defeats Shelton 38-34
Jan 112018

Amity Wrestlers won another hard-fought dual match against Shelton on Tuesday January 9th. Amity’s victory was led by Captains Christian Chadwick, Matt Rothman and newly named Captain Sam Keylock.  Christian Chadwick, Matt Rothman, Simon Flaherty, and Justin Griffen all won their respective matches by pin.

With this win, Amity remains undefeated in the SCC B division.

Amity 38, Shelton 34

106-  G. Zipperstein (S) dec. Captain S. Goldblatt (A) 5-2

113- S. Reyes (S) pin Danny Carlson (A) 1:25

120- Christian Chadwick (A) pin A. Montez (S) 2:41

126- Aidan Hebert (A) dec. A. Cordeo (S) 10-1

132- S. Rago (S) dec. Liam Keylock (A) 8-4

138- C. Mengold (S) pin Aidrian Gonzales (A) 3:17

145- M. Monico (S) dec. Mike Widell (A) 13-8

152- Matt Rothman (A) pin L. Saranich (S) 0:45

160- A. Seaton (A) dec. L. Stanskey (S) 9-0

170- Sam Keylock (A) forfeit

182- Simon Flaherty (A) pin A. Rosa (S) 0:52

195- R. Weiner (S) forfiet

220- N. Morrisey (S) pin J. Foote (A) 0:56

285- Justin Griffin (A) pin I. Deloatech (S) 1:25