Quantcast

Bryan-Andrew House Still Coming Along

 Around Town, Home, Latest News  Comments Off on Bryan-Andrew House Still Coming Along
Oct 242016
 

dsc09769On Sunday, the Orange Historical Society hosted an open house at the historic Bryan-Andrew House on Old Tavern Road.

The Town of Orange purchased the circa 1740 Bryan-Andrew House in 2000.

Soon afterward, a microburst hit Old Tavern Road and came close, but missed the historic home.

With grants from the State of Connecticut, the Connecticut Trust for Historic Preservation, donations, and fundraisers, the Orange Historical Society has been restoring the home for more than a decade.

It is now open by appointment as a house museum for local school tours to experience a day in the life of early Orange using Bryan’s Farms as its historical location.

One element that’s slowing the process is the Orange sanitarian’s requirements that the home have a fully functional, yet not true to the 1700s period, stainless steel kitchen in which to prepare and cook food for guests. This requires a wagonload of cash that the society does not currently have at its disposal.

Here’s Another Chance To See The Bryan-Andrew House

 Around Town, Home, Latest News  Comments Off on Here’s Another Chance To See The Bryan-Andrew House
Oct 192014
 

7355383_origThe Orange Historical Society will host an open house at the Bryan-Andrew House, 131 Old Tavern Road (said to be the oldest house in Orange) on Sunday, Oct. 19 from 12-4 p.m.

Parking will be at the Old Tavern Road Baseball Complex with a shuttle bus running to and from the historic home.

Come and see what your donations have allowed the society to do to open the house museum for your enjoyment and education of colonial times in Orange.

Admission is free. Light refreshments will be served.

The town of Orange purchased the Bryan-Andrew House (circa 1740) in 2000. The Bryan family was associated with Milford from its founding in 1639.

With grants from the State of Connecticut, donations, and fundraisers, the Orange Historical Society has restored the home. It will be used as a house museum for local school tours to experience a day in the life of early Orange using Bryan’s Farms as its historical site.

It was listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 2002.

In the summer of  2001 and 2002, an archeological dig took place at the home and artifacts unearthed are now cataloged and available for viewing.  If interested, call 203 795-3106 for an appointment.

Restoration is continuing with plaster walls and ceilings with original lath underneath to recreate the 1740 construction.  The fireplace in the parlor was altered many years ago and is now undergoing an original restoration.  The hearth brick which was obviously 20th century was removed to show the original red brick which is in excellent condition.

Originally  Published on: Oct 5, 2014 @ 19:05

Second Publishing on: Oct 12, 2014 @ 16:45