The Town of Orange purchased the circa 1740 Bryan-Andrew House in 2000.
Soon afterward, a microburst hit Old Tavern Road and came close, but missed the historic home.
With grants from the State of Connecticut, the Connecticut Trust for Historic Preservation, donations, and fundraisers, the Orange Historical Society has been restoring the home for more than a decade.
It is now open by appointment as a house museum for local school tours to experience a day in the life of early Orange using Bryan’s Farms as its historical location.
One element that’s slowing the process is the Orange sanitarian’s requirements that the home have a fully functional, yet not true to the 1700s period, stainless steel kitchen in which to prepare and cook food for guests. This requires a wagonload of cash that the society does not currently have at its disposal.