Feb 232013

Crushers 2We all know Dave Kennedy as the owner of Reno’s Pizzeria and have heard of everything he does for the town. But in the spring and summer he is Coach Kennedy, teaching the 12-under CT Crushers baseball players how to be winners, but more importantly, good sportsmanship and how to have fun.

As most Orange residents know, playing at Cooperstown Dreams Park has been an annual tradition for 12 year old baseball players in Orange for many years.  Every August, elite players from the Town of Orange make the annual pilgrimage in hopes of winning a national title.  This cultural and life enriching experience for team and family members will create memories to last a lifetime.

During the trip, players and coaches will visit the National Baseball Hall of Fame, share hometown stories, trade pins, and compete with players on over 100 teams from around the United States for a weekly national title.  Team records and photographs will be displayed in the American Youth Baseball Hall of Fame.  This once in a lifetime experience comes at a cost of $850 per player and coach.  In addition, the team will need to bring enough pins to trade with fellow players.  Other costs involved are for sportswear, a banner, and travel expenses.  Any donations are greatly appreciated and will help offset the cost incurred by families of players.

photo-38The CT Crushers will host their first major fundraiser at the Joker’s Wild, 232 Wooster Street, New Haven, on Sunday, April 7.  Tickets are $20 per person and are available from any team member or at Reno’s Pizzeria, 500 Boston Post Road, Orange.  Doors open at 5:30 p.m.  The show starts at 7 p.m.  There will also be raffle prizes.  Have some laughs while helping the team!  Joker’s Wild has generously offered to donate half of all ticket sales to the team.

The team also is selling ads for its program book, which will be distributed to attendees of the Joker’s Wild fundraiser.  Raffle Prixe donations would be greatly appreciated.

A major corporate sponsor is sought, whose name will be displayed on the banner that will be carried by the team during opening ceremonies.

Team members are:  Jack Ballocca, Michael Bier, Clayton Coassin, Marc Chodos, Drew DeDomenico, Anthony Esposito, Michael Ficaro, Robert Jaques, Ryan Kennedy, Michael McGurrin, Peter Minore, Sean Nusdeo, Quentin Pitter, Gunnar Poulimas, Joey Schittina, and Griffin Tirollo.  Please see any team member to purchase tickets, take out an ad, or donate a raffle item.

For  more information, please contact Stephanie or Dave Kennedy, (203) 795-3216 or e-mail SKennedy0421@yahoo.com

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.