65th Annual Block A Awards Presented

 Amity High School, Around Town, Home, Latest News, School News, Sports  Comments Off on 65th Annual Block A Awards Presented
Jun 152021

After a disappointing 2019-2020 school year for high school athletes, when the Annual Block A Award Ceremony took place virtually and winners had to wait until their drive-thru graduation to receive their plaques and trophies, This year’s modified in-person event was a breath of fresh air.

Although there was no dinner, and everyone still had to wear face masks, at least the Amity Athletes had the experience of hearing their names and receiving their awards directly from their coaches in front of their peers and parents.

The ceremony took place in the Amity auditorium on Sunday, June 13, at 5 p.m. For anyone who couldn’t make it, or didn’t have an invitation, the event was live-streamed and is now available to anyone on YouTube.

Athletic Director Ernie Goodwin hosted the event.

Here are the 2020-2021 MVPs

* = not present, no photo

Baseball – McAllister (Mac) Burke

Boys Basketball – Micah Morgan

Girls Basketball – Mya Manzione

Cheerleading – Emily Martocchio

Dance – Ella Benjamin

Boys Cross Country – Mason Beaudette

Girls Cross Country – Ariana Garay

Field Hockey – Payton Rahn

Football – No Season

Boys Golf – Brett Chodos

Girls Golf – Ava Gross

Boys Ice Hockey – Justin Miller

Girls Ice Hockey – Caroline Cadelina

Boys Indoor Track & Field – Philip London

Girls Indoor Track & Field – Abigail (Abby) Ball

Boys Lacrosse – John Coughlin (Middie)

Girls Lacrosse – Payton Rahn (goalie)

Boys Ski Racing – Evan Jurzyk

Girls Ski Racing – Madeline Key

Boys Soccer – Arian Bobi*

Girls Soccer – Audrey Marin

Softball – Juliette Zito

Boys Swimming & Diving – Seamus Hennesy

Girls Swimming & Diving – Natalie Carrington

Boys Tennis – Nishaan Patel*

Girls Tennis – Sydney Pitter*

Boys Track & Field – Mason Beaudette

Girls Track & Field – Emily Zielinski

Boys Volleyball – Theodore (Theo) Zaharewicz*

Girls Volleyball – Zoe Dizenzo*

Wrestling – No Season

Amity MVPs Honored At Annual Block A Dinner

 Amity High School, Around Town, Home, Latest News, School News, Sports  Comments Off on Amity MVPs Honored At Annual Block A Dinner
Jun 102019

Amity High School has some phenomenal athletes, that can’t be denied.

On Sunday, June 9, the Amity Booster Club hosted its annual Block A Awards dinner, during which the best of the best in Spartans athletics were recognized.

Most of the MVPs were chosen by their teammates.

One by one, the varsity coaches came up front and gave a brief history of his or her MVPs accomplishments before revealing the name and calling that athlete up to receive his or her plaque.

Following are the 2019 Male MVPs:

Baseball – Senior Pitcher, #7 John Lumpinski

Basketball – Senior Guard, #20 James Van Hise

Cross Country – Senior Connor Visnic

Football – Senior #22 Michael Young

Golf – Senior, Dan Comeau

Hockey – Senior, #18 Jason Csejka

Indoor Track – Senior, Richard Papa

Lacrosse – Senior, Harry Brochinsky

Ski Racing – Junior, James Fortin

Soccer – Senior, #25 Austin Gilbride

Swimming – Senior, Shiva Gowda

Tennis – Senior, Chris Bullers

Track and Field – Senior, Richard Papa

Volleyball – Senior, #5 Christian Tzepos

Wrestling – Senior, Andrew Seaton

Following are the 2019 Female MVPs:

Basketball – Senior, #34 Tara Laugeni

Cheerleading – Senior, Ashley Thomas

Cross Country – Senior, Madelyn Ciskowski

Dance Team – Senior, Sophie Benjamin

Field Hockey – Junior, #18 Tess Csejka

Golf – Junior, Tess Csejka

Ice Hockey – Junior, Tess Csejka

Indoor Track – Senior, Julia Potter

Lacrosse – Junior, #30 Ana Carney

Ski Racing – Senior, Mary Foley

Soccer – Senior, #14 Cailey Esposito

Softball – Junior, #26 Marissa Dwyer

Swimming – Senior, Molly Cox

Tennis – Senior, Sarah Bullers

Track and Field – Senior, Katie Yuan

Volleyball – Senior, #21 Abby Harbinson

Here are photos of the 2018-19 MVPs


Meet Amity’s 2019 Athletes of The Year

 Amity High School, Around Town, Home, Latest News, School News, Sports  Comments Off on Meet Amity’s 2019 Athletes of The Year
Jun 102019

2019 Athletes of the Year, Connor Visnic and Abby Harbinson.

The Amity Booster Club hosted its annual “Block A” Dinner at Racebrook Country Club on Sunday, June 9.

All of Amity’s top athletes were honored with plaques, trophies or scholarship awards for their exemplary work throughout the years.

The top prize, of course, is the Athlete of the Year distinction.

This year’s winners are runner Connor Visnic and volleyball player Abby Harbinson.

In addition, Connor was named MVP for Boys Cross Country and Abby received the Girls Volleyball MVP Award.

Both are phenomenal athletes and deserving of the recognition.

We will miss them next year, and wish them the best as they go on to college.