Broadway Stars Will Participate In The Inaugural Sondheim Awards

 Amity High School, Around Town, Home, Latest News, School News  Comments Off on Broadway Stars Will Participate In The Inaugural Sondheim Awards
Jun 042018

On June 4, students and educators from across Connecticut and Rhode Island will gather at the Shubert Theatre of New Haven for the first annual Stephen Sondheim Awards, which will be hosted by Hamilton’s Solea Pfeiffer and Ryan Vasquez. The Sondheim Awards are presented by Broadway Method Academy (BMA), in association with the Shubert Theatre and Westport Country Playhouse.

Modeled after Broadway’s Tony Awards, the Sondheim Awards recognizes excellence in high school musical theater. “We are so excited to welcome Tony winner Joanna Gleason to the gala this year!” said BMA Artistic Director, Julie Kavanagh. Ms. Gleason will present the awards for Best Actor and Actress and the winners will advance to the National High School Musical Theater Awards/The Jimmy Awards in New York City. (Amity has had two students go on to the Nationals: John Jorge and Alli Kramer)

The black-tie gala will feature appearances by Oscar Nominee, Chris Sarandon (Princess Bride, Nightmare Before Christmas), Audrey Cardwell (Alice Murphy in Bright Star), Dan DeLuca (Newsies), Aubrey Berg (CCM Musical Theater), Eric Santagata (Prince of Broadway, Bullets Over Broadway, Chaplin), Hunter Ryan Herdlicka (A Little Night Music), and Mike Ryan (Newsies).

The evening, which will be produced by BMA, will feature an opening number with more than 50 students from each of the fourteen participating high schools. Best Actor and Actress nominees will perform a medley of their nominated roles. The six productions nominated for Best Musical will each perform a segment from their production. NOTE: Amity’s Marty Gnidula – Uncle Fester, Alaina Dwyer – Alice Beineke, and Lilli Querker are nominated in the lead actor/actress categories for The Addams Family. And the Addams Family received a nod for Best Musical. 

BMA is thrilled to partner with the Jamie Hulley Arts Foundation to present over $4,000 in cash scholarships to deserving students who submitted auditions and written responses pertaining to how theater has influenced their lives.

Tickets for the gala are $39 per person and are currently on-sale through Ticketmaster.

The gala will be music directed by Jad Bernardo and will feature choreography by Julie Kavanagh and Audra Bryant. David Dreyfoos serves as Production Stage Manager with Weston G. Wetzel serving as Director of Production. Connor Deane and J. Scott Handley produce.