Goodwin Hosts the 64th Amity Block A Awards

 Amity High School, Around Town, Home, Latest News, School News, Sports, Today's Events  Comments Off on Goodwin Hosts the 64th Amity Block A Awards
Jun 082020

It is with great pride and a sense of sadness that I present to you this year’s winners of the 64th Annual Amity Block A Awards.

This is Amity’s big night to honor its most amazing athletes, a night that some of the boys and girls have looked forward to for four years. But due to the COVID-19 restrictions the ceremony, for which I have been the photographer for the past 8 years or so, was canceled.

But a pandemic wouldn’t stop Amity Athletic Director Ernie Goodwin from honoring the athletes and involving all of their coaches for the Virtual 64th annual Block A Awards (without the dinner)

It wasn’t as long as usual, and the athletes weren’t able to accept their awards in front of their peers and parents, but hopefully hearing what their coaches had to say about them and why they were chosen as the team MVP, a specialized scholarship recipient, scholar-athlete or the coveted player of the year, gave each one some comfort, especially the seniors for which this has been a really trying year.

That said, here are the 2019-2020 Block A Award-Winning Athletes:

Most Valuable Players

Boys Basketball – Joe DiGello

Girls Basketball –  Jillian Martin

Cheerleading – Isabel Cavanagh

Boys Cross Country – John Dill

Girls Cross Country – Ariana Garay

Dance Team –  Sydney Reiner

Field Hockey – Tess Csejka

Football – Joe DiGello

Boys Ice Hockey – Justin Miller

Girls Ice Hockey – Tess Csejka

Boys Indoor Track – Ariel Gordon

Girls Indoor Track – Audrey Marin

Boys Ski Racing – James Fortin

Girls Ski Racing – Natalie Prinz

Boys Soccer – Ali Bobi

Girls Soccer –  Jenna Ciola

Boys Swimming – Tyler Roy

Girls Swimming – Katie O’Connor

Girls Volleyball – Zoey DiZenzo

Wrestling – Simon Flaherty


Unified Sports

Unified Sportsmanship Award – Andrew Serrano


Coach’s Association Awards

Coach of the Year Award – Todd Patterson (Wrestling — Amity’s best year)

Assistant Coach of the Year Award – Mike Brady (Boys Basketball)

Coaches Association Outstanding Service Award – Beth Young (Booster Club)


Special Awards and Scholarships

Steven J Zeider Award (swimming) – Casey Donovan

James Dunleavy Award (hockey) – Caleb Marcin

Thomas G Laugeni Award – Tyler Roy

Thomas G Laugeni Award – Alexandra Plaza

Mark E Greco Award – (hockey) Sai Neelam

Jeremy Saxe Award – Zach Young

Athletic Director’s Award – Ethan Kaempffer

Albert J. Seymour Award – Will Rotko

Albert J. Seymour Award – Dana Della-Giustina



Scholar-Athlete – Zach Young

Scholar-Athlete – Ella Marin


Paul Mengold Award

Paul Mengold Award – Haley Cable



Versatility Award – Simon Flaherty

Versatility Award – Ana Carney


Sportsmanship Award – Nico Semonella

Sportsmanship Award – Payton Papa


And Finally Top Honors Go To

The 2020 Athletes of The Year

Athlete of the Year – Joe DiGello

Athlete of the Year – Tess Csejka


See the entire Block A Award Presentation below:


Feb 102015

Amity Football Head Coach Ted Cze and Athletic Director Ernie W

Amity Football Head Coach Ted Czepiga and Athletic Director Ernie Goodwin.

Amity Spartans Football Team has a new head coach, 29-year-old Amity Grad Ted Czepiga of Bethany.

Czepiga was chosen from a large field of candidates who applied for the job after longtime coach Bert Mozealous retired after the 2014 season. 

HERE is some information that we found on Czepiga.

More to come. 

Amity Regional School District #5 Hires Ernest Goodwin to Serve as Athletic Director

 Amity High School, Around Town, Home, Latest News, School News, Sports, Today's Events  Comments Off on Amity Regional School District #5 Hires Ernest Goodwin to Serve as Athletic Director
May 132014

A Press Release from Amity:

The Amity Regional School District #5 Board of Education has hired Ernest (Ernie) Goodwin to serve as Athletic Director for the district. Mr. Goodwin comes to Amity after having served as a Physical Education Teacher in Simsbury, CT, since 2006 and Assistant Athletic Director in Simsbury, CT, since 2012. Ernie will replace Paul Mengold, who will be retiring after serving Amity Athletics for more than 38 years.

“Throughout the entire hiring process, Ernie demonstrated that he has the skills and abilities to preserve the best parts of a truly great program and also advance us to the next level of athletic excellence,” stated Charles Dumais, Superintendent of the Amity Regional School District. “Students, parents, and colleagues in Simsbury extolled Ernie’s ability to effectively manage change through developing and fostering strong relationships with all constituents. We are confident that he will be an excellent fit for Amity.”

Mr. Goodwin has been a physical education teacher since 1997 and has coached boys and girls in high school wrestling, football, and track and field, and collegiate wrestling.  He is a graduate of Springfield College, having earned a Bachelor of Science in Movement and Sport Studies / Physical Education and a Master of Science in Athletic Administration.  He also holds a sixth-year degree in Educational Leadership from the University of Connecticut.  As a college athlete, Ernie was an NCAA Regional Champion and Academic All-American in wrestling.

  “I am absolutely thrilled to be a part of an exceptional school district such as Amity,” stated Mr. Goodwin upon learning he had been selected for the Amity Regional School District #5 Athletic Director position. “The support from the school district and community is evident. I look forward to the opportunity to serve the student-athletes, coaches, administration, and community.”

Mr. Goodwin will begin as Amity Regional School District #5’s Athletic Director on July 1, 2014.