Quantcast

Letter: Amity Administrators, Clergy, Community Leaders Discuss Anti-Semitism, Intolerance

 Amity High School, Around Town, Home, Latest News, School News  Comments Off on Letter: Amity Administrators, Clergy, Community Leaders Discuss Anti-Semitism, Intolerance
Nov 162018
 

Dear Amity Community,

On Wednesday, November 14, a very productive meeting was conducted with the Amity High School Administration, leaders from local organizations and clergy to discuss the school and community’s response to the incidents of Anti-Semitism and other intolerant behavior in the school community.

This type of behavior is not acceptable and will not be tolerated. The high school administrators have spent the last few days working with students in small and large groups along with meeting with the faculty and representatives from the Anti-Defamation League (ADL) to listen and develop an action plan.

During yesterday’s meeting, there was a strong commitment to continue to work together to keep the community informed of the school’s response and action plan. We will know more about the plan to address the issues we are facing by November 30, at which time it will be shared with the community. Our priority is to make Amity a safe and supportive environment for all students. The following people are resources for you to contact for support or with questions:

Judy Alperin
Jewish Federation of Greater NH
jalperin@jewishnewhaven.org                                                               

Marji Lipshez-Shapiro
Anti-Defamation League (ADL)
mshapiro@adl.org

Anna Mahon, Principal
Amity Regional High School
Anna.mahon@amityregion5.org
Frank Barretta, Assistant Principal
Amity Regional High School
Frank.barretta@amityregion5.org

Rev. Shephard Parsons
First Church of Christ Woodbridge
Shepard_parsons@mac.com

Rev. Dr. Brian R. Bodt
Retired
Brianbodt@sbcglobal.net

Tyler Pepe
Regional Director, BBYO
TPepe@BBYO.org

Rabbi Michael Farbman
Temple Emanuel of Greater New Haven
Orange
rabbi@tegnh.org 

Rabbi Rona Shapiro

Congregation B’nai Jacob Woodbridge
rgshapiro430@gmail.com
Rabbi Shea Hecht
Southern CT Hebrew Academy-CHABAD
Orange
shecht@schacademy.org

Robyn Teplitzky
Jewish Federation of Greater NH
rteplitzky@jewishnewhaven.org

Monica Kreuzer, Associate Principal
Amity Regional High School
Monica.kreuzer@amityregion5.org

Dr. Jason Tracy, Associate Principal
Amity Regional High School
Jason.tracy@amityregion5.org

Jill LaPlante, Director of Counseling
Amity Regional High School
Jill.laplante@amityregion5.org
Susan Walden
Anti-Defamation League (ADL)
swalden@adl.org

Jennifer P. Byars
Amity Regional School District 5
Jennifer.byars@amityregion5.org